The Badger On: Shadowhunters (TV)

 

Finally something not a movie!! Though admittedly I have started a post related to a book series.

 

I have bene wanting to write about this show for a little while now but the thing is every time I go to watch it I get distracted by the people in my household asking for me to do something for them which takes me out of the show entirely. Last night was the first time in about 3 or maybe 4 weeks that I was able to watch an episode without being distracted.

 

First off I would like to say that I have read/listened to the source material, written by Cassandra Clare, though I have not seen the movie. I do own it and I am pretty sure it is available on Netflix or the other streaming service here in Australia called Stan. The series is available on Netflix as an original series.

 

If you don’t know anything about the show or the source material here is a little synopsis. Clary Fray is a ‘normal’ teenage girl living in New York with her single-mother Jocelyn but everything changes when she sees three other teenagers kill another teenager in a nightclub. Clary, however, is the only one that can see them though. The three teenagers are Shadowhunters and the other is a demon. It turns out that Clary, along with her mother, are too though Clary was unaware of this as her mother had brought her up as a mundane (human) to protect her from her father, Valentine Morgenstern, who is the big bad.

 

After her mother is kidnapped, Clary and her best-friend Simon enter the world of Shadowhunters as they search for her mother and the Mortal Cup, one of three Mortal Instruments, that is able to make more Shadowhunters and control demons. Jocelyn had stolen the cup to keep it away from Valentine who wants it control the demons and rid the world of down-worlders (vampires, werewolves, warlocks and faeries) whom he hates as a werewolf apparently killed his father.

 

 

I consider the show a guilty pleasure as the acting in general is rather atrocious, especially the two out of the three male leads in Dominic Sherwood (Jace Wayland) and Matthew Daddario (Alec Lightwood) who are rather wooden though I guess Alec as a character is supposed to be a little repressed. Jace however isn’t and I just don’t get that from Dominic’s portrayal at all. Emeraude Taubia (Isabelle Lightwood) isn’t much better and Katherine McNamara’s (Clary Fray) is only just passable.

 

Alberto Rosende (Simon Lewis) and Harry Shum Jr (Magnus Bane) are pretty much the only reason why I am still watching the show as they both are superb as Simon and the out there warlock Magnus. Harry seems to be having a blast with this role and Alberto is just perfectly cast as the geeky and lovelorn Simon.

 

The only other characters of note are the vampires Camillie and Raphael which they seemed have swapped over from the source material. In the books Camillie is not introduced until the fifth book and is supposed to me a little more sympathetic than the horrible Raphael. In the show Camille is there from the beginning and is the one that turns Simon instead of Raphael. The last character of note is Luke Garroway who is a former Shadowhunter, who at one time was best-friends with Valentine, who was bitten by a werewolf and is now the head of the New York pack. He is also Clary’s father-figure and a policeman (though in the book he was a rare book and antiques dealer). To be honest he hasn’t made much on an impression on me in the show, unlike in the book/s who I really did enjoy. However that may have been more from the interruptions that I have had while watching the show than the actual actor.

 

Finally something not a movie!! Though admittedly I have started a post related to a book series.

 

I have been wanting to write about this show for a little while now but the thing is every time I go to watch it I get distracted by the people in my household asking for me to do something for them which takes me out of the show entirely. Last night was the first time in about 3 or maybe 4 weeks that I was able to watch an episode without being distracted.

 

First off I would like to say that I have read/listened to the source material though I have not seen the movie. I do own it and I am pretty sure it is available on Netflix or the other streaming service here in Australia called Stan. The series is available on Netflix as an original series.

 

If you don’t know anything about the show or the source material here is a little synopsis. Clary Fray is a ‘normal’ teenage girl living in New York with her single-mother Jocelyn but everything changes when she sees three other teenagers kill another teenager in a nightclub. Clary, however, is the only one that can see them though. The three teenagers are Shadowhunters and the other is a demon. It turns out that Clary, along with her mother, are too though Clary was unaware of this as her mother had brought her up as a mundane (human) to protect her from her father, Valentine Morgenstern, who is the big bad.

 

After her mother is kidnapped, Clary and her best-friend Simon enter the world of Shadowhunters as they search for her mother and the Mortal Cup, one of three Mortal Instruments, that is able to make more Shadowhunters and control demons. Jocelyn had stolen the cup to keep it away from Valentine who wants it control the demons and rid the world of down-worlders (vampires, werewolves, warlocks and faeries) whom he hates as a werewolf apparently killed his father.

 

I consider the show a guilty pleasure as the acting in general is rather atrocious, especially the two out of the three male leads in Dominic Sherwood (Jace Wayland) and Matthew Daddario (Alec Lightwood) who are rather wooden though I guess Alec as a character is supposed to be a little repressed. Jace however isn’t and I just don’t get that from Dominic’s portrayal at all. Emeraude Taubia (Isabelle Lightwood) isn’t much better and Katherine McNamara’s (Clary Fray) is only just passable.

 

Alberto Rosende (Simon Lewis) and Harry Shum Jr (Magnus Bane) are pretty much the only reason why I am still watching the show as they both are superb as Simon and the out there warlock Magnus. Harry seems to be having a blast with this role and Alberto is just perfectly cast as the geeky and lovelorn Simon.

 

The only other characters of note are the vampires Camillie and Raphael which they seemed have swapped over from the source material. In the books Camillie is not introduced until the fifth book and is supposed to me a little more sympathetic than the horrible Raphael. In the show Camille is there from the beginning and is the one that turns Simon instead of Raphael. The last character of note is Luke Garroway who is a former Shadowhunter, who at one time was best-friends with Valentine, who was bitten by a werewolf and is now the head of the New York pack. He is also Clary’s father-figure and a policeman (though in the book he was a rare book and antiques dealer). To be honest he hasn’t made much on an impression on me in the show, unlike in the book/s who I really did enjoy. However that may have been more from the interruptions that I have had while watching the show than the actual actor.

badgerbadger 1/2

Trailer

 

 

Leave a Reply

