The Badger Compares/Reviews: Captain America: Civil War and X-Men: Apocalypse

captain-america-civil-war-posterx-men-apocalypse-2016-movie-poster-wallpaper-813x1024

 

I am not a Marvel girl at all and though I have seen all the movies and have watched some of the Marvel television I still prefer DC. I feel more emotionally invested in DC characters than I do with Marvel and never really got excited for Civil War or X-Men the way I got excited for Dawn of Justice or the upcoming Suicide Squad or anything TV related within the DCU.

The one property of Marvel that I do have an affection for is the X-Men. My older brother read the comics when he was a teenager and we both were fans of the cartoon. I have seen all the X-Men movies at the cinema and do have an affection for Bryan Singer as a director as he directed one of my favourite movies of all time in the Usual Suspects. He was also an Executive Producer on one of favourite TV shows in House MD which he also directed a couple of episodes in the first season.

Despite this affection I can’t honestly say that X-Men: Apocalypse was a great movie in this franchise. On the other hand Captain America: Civil War could be considered such a movie and it is definitely the best of the Marvel movies under the Disney banner that have been released.

That’s not to say that I don’t have some quibbles with it. I don’t particularly like how they treated Wanda/Scarlett Witch  (Elizabeth Olsen) but then Marvel has never been great in treating their female characters right. I thought it was a little long and I didn’t care too much about how they flashed up the locations up on the screen. I have to say Captain America (Chris Evans) and his Avengers for and against sure did travel this time around and you could say that Iron Man (Robert Downey Jnr) could be up for kidnapping considering he took a minor in Spiderman out of the US without a passport or Auntie May’s (Marisa Tomei) permission.

Speaking of the Peter Parker I thought that Tom Holland did a wonderful job considering that I have absolutely no love for the character what-so-ever, actually I have only ever seen half a Spider-Man movie and that was the second half of the Amazing Spider-Man (2012). Also the introduction of Ant-Man (Paul Rudd) was delightful. That whole airport scene was spectacular. T’Challa/Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman) was wonderful and another great addition to the line-up and I am looking forward to his stand-alone.

Apocalypse on the hand was also a little long and the they never once referred to Oscar Isaac’s character by any name what-so-over, actually I think he dodges the question when asked. Also his mutant powers were not really defined except that they seemed to be sand related, that he could forcibly inherit powers and give other power that could make them stronger.  A little too much time was given over to Raven/Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) and that was probably because it is Jennifer Lawrence.

The new/old mutants in Jean Grey/Phoenix (Sophie Turner), Scott Summers/Cyclops (Tye Sheridan) and Kurt Wagner/Nightcrawler (Kodi Smith-McPhee), Ororo Munroe/Storm (Alexandra Shipp) did well with what they had as did Psylocke (Olivia Munn). My niece particularly loved Peter Maximoff/Quicksilver (Evan Peters) and I have to agree that his slow motion scenes were as good as the ones from Days of Futures Past.  

Eric Lensherr/Magneto (Michael Fassbender) was wonderful and his scenes with his family where wonderful and their deaths were incredible heartbreaking. Though there acting was not bad I really can’t say much about Professor Xavier (James McEvoy), Moira McTaggert (Rose Byrne) and Hank McCoy/Beast (Nicholas Hoult). Hugh Jackman’s cameo as Wolverine was a good follow up from his part in Days of Futures Past.

Civil War:    badgerbadgerbadgerbadger

Apocalypse: badgerbadger 1/2

 

Leave a Reply

