The Badger On: Logan (Movie)

backgrounds_logan_outer

I know it has been a while. I have been to the movies a couple of times prior to this review. The first I did start to write something up but I wanted to see the movie again and didn’t get a chance to so I might wait for the Digital/DVD release of it, which should be soon. The second I actually fell asleep during due it being really hot, a heavy meal prior and popcorn during and I was tired to begin with. Unfortunately this did not impress my BF who was rather annoyed that I feel asleep.

 

So that leads to my review of Logan. Now we all know that I am more of a DC fan than a Marvel and though technically this is made by Fox and not Marvel/Disney Wolverine is a Marvel character and I do have a fondness for the character. Actually X-Man/Wolverine is probably the only Marvel creation that I do have a fondness for though Guardians of the Galaxy and Deadpool might creep in there.

 

I am going to admit right off the bat that I did cry by the end. This has probably been the best X-Men movie that has been made in a while and this isn’t really an X-Men movie it just has elements of it. Hugh Jackman in his final (?) outing as Wolverine/Logan’s age has caught up to him and the adamantium that has been bonded to his skeleton now poisoning him and his healing ability slowing down.  He is  wonderful in his curmudgeon best, though in his own way it is an act as he does truly care for both Caliban (Stephen Merchant) and Charles Xavier (Patrick Stewart) and he did end up caring and even seeing Laura/X23 (Dafne Keen) as his daughter by the end of the film.

 

Dafne Keen was definitely the highlight of this movie with her not speaking until the last third of the film and only responding to action sequences with grunts and screams. The way she reacted to what was going on around her was wonderful. Professor Xavier’s and Wolverine’s last moments in this movie were beautiful and horrible at the same time as Wolverine’s in particular is what brought me to tears with Laura referring to him as ‘Daddy’ for the first time.

 

Wonderfully directed and co-written by James Mangold this is a road movie where you can feel the tension of the chase by the bad guys in the form of Transigen/Reavers  who are responsible for the creation of Laura from DNA taken from Logan and the other young mutants who are trying to cross the border into Canada where they will be protected.  Like Deadpool before it this is a MA15+ movie with its violence and language but the violence to an extent was very artistic.

 

If you are a fan of Wolverine please go and see this movie as it finally gives you the Wolverine that should have always been.

 

badgerbadgerbadgerbadger

Trailer

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

