The Badger On: Riverdale (TV)

riverdale

 

Two in one week, I am not sure if I have done this before and if I have it is definitely been a while. Admittedly my writing motivation/inspiration has been waning a bit. I think my depression for the first time is overtaking my anxiety. Hopefully I will kick both in the ass and my need to write whether it be reviews, my regularly blog, general writing or return to Harry Potter RP will return.

 

Well any who, todays review is on the Archie comics TV series Riverdale which is shown here in Australia as a Netflix original series though in America it is shown on the CW, the network responsible for all those wonderful DC related shows that I do love so much. I can’t say that Archie is a big thing here in Australia, I mean I am aware of who the characters are and their character tropes, if that is the right word to use. I think though it is more through cartoons and such and not the actual comics that I am aware of who they are.

 

This show has come as a little surprise to me as I expected that I would treat it very much like I did the Shadowhunters TV show, a guilty pleasure, but it is so much better than that. The characters are well defined and that acting is generally very good and the writing is also very good and the show seems to be run well but then Greg Berlanti and his crew generally do a good job.

 

This show is narrated by Jughead (Cole Sprouse of the Sweet Life of Zack and Cody from Disney TV fame) and tells the story of the mystery of high school football star Jason Blossom murder and the general goings on small town Riverdale. Archie Andrews (KJ Apa) a normal boy who is/was having an affair with his music teacher Miss Grundy and was on the riverbank when they heard a shot fired. Jason Blossom was reported missing and then found dead from gunshot. Due to their illicit relationship they did not report hearing a shot, though Archie wanted to due to guilt.

 

The story follows the various relationships in town and what involvement if any they might have on the death of Jason. Surprisingly enough it is not so much Archie that it is the most interesting character of the show but the females of Riverdale and Jughead. Betty Cooper (Lili Reinhart) though is still the girl next door and in love with Archie is stronger than I thought her to be. Veronica Lodge (Camila Mendes) is strong and not as bitchy and more vulnerable than I thoughts she was.  Cheryl Blossom (Madelaine Petsch), Josie McCoy (Ashleigh Murray) and Valerie Brown (Hayley Law) make up the other interesting and strong girls of the show.

 

All the parents in this show are horrible except for probably Fred Andrews (Luke Perry) Archie’s dad and Hermione Lodge (Marisol Nichols) Veronica’s mum, though admittedly Hermione can be questionable unlike Fred. All the other parents seem to be more interested in themselves and their image than actually anything beneficial to their children.

 

Even if you are not a fan or overly aware of Archie comics I would recommend this show as it is enjoyable and dramatic and well-acted.

 

badgerbadgerbadger1/2

 

Trailer

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/HxtLlByaYTc&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen></iframe>   

 

Leave a Reply

